Post, in which I admit my obvious lack of productivity and what I’ve done instead

Hello once more, dear blog, dear masses of faithful readers. I have, I know, been terribly neglectful. How have the spam-bots been coping without my prattle to try to post ads under?

Times have been busy and I haven’t really felt up to posting. My wife and I are buying a house, which is quite stressful, which drains me of the energy to do other things. So, I’ve been less productive than I was during my initial wave of optimism.

I have done a few useful things. I’ve made some glacial progress on a longer, original story which I hope to polish and sell when it’s done. I’ve developed ideas for several other stories of varying length, including a potential submission for the next Machine of Death. Right now, I’m suffering from too much thinking and not enough writing. I’m hoping that writing this post will get me into gear so I can finish off that story.

I’ve also done some entertaining, but less useful things. I read two great books: Paolo Bacigalupi’s The Windup Girl and Patrick Rothfuss’ The Wise Man’s Fear. Both have received plenty of gushing elsewhere, so I’ll just say that they are worthy of it. I read another book, Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson, which was less great and took me ages to read because I kept being more interested by the stories in my head. Sorry, Malazan fans, it just didn’t work for me.

I also learned to stop worrying and love Doctor Who. I blitzed through 2005 to the present, mainly on the promise of Neil Gaiman’s episode. Honestly, I found the first year a bit rubbish, although it picked up near the end. Then the David Tennant years were pretty good and got even better at the end. But so far, Matt Smith’s run has been excellent. I like the enlarged recurring cast and the step away from the monster-of-the-week format. They’ve kept the fun, but the episodes are now less camp and throwaway.

So, maybe now I’m ready to write some fiction. At the very least this is 360 words towards my daily word count. Let’s see if I can hit 1000.

Leave a Reply

